top of page

Honor Speech to my Parents on August 18, 2015

Reposted on Facebook: WEDNESDAY, MAY 31, 2017

Written: July 2015 Texas, USA

Thank you all for celebrating with our family today on my mother's 56th Birthday, I know you're wondering what's with the age 56, nothing really, it's just that I should have done this for her 6 years ago when she was 50, but it's never too late right? And I don't want to let another year pass by without letting my mother and even my dad know how much they mean to me. I will start with reading scriptures from the Bible that I believe describes Myraflor Batucan Yu, my Mother. Proverbs 31 10 A wife of noble character who can find? She is worth far more than rubies. One day I was reading this scripture about the Wife of Noble Character and by the time I finished reading the entire chapter, I realize the answer to the question in verse 10. My Dad found her and she is my mother. Before I continue I'd like to ask my Mother to take her seat at the chair prepared for her on stage and my siblings to stand with me as I read this scripture to her. Continue reading and expounding until verse 31 28 Her children stand and bless her. Her husband praises her: (give Dad the microphone to read vs 29) 29 “There are many virtuous and capable women in the world, but you surpass them all!” 30 Charm is deceptive, and beauty does not last; but a woman who fears the Lord will be greatly praised. 31 Reward her for all she has done. Let her deeds publicly declare her praise. (Referring to the Guest): Would you please help me honor my Mother by standing up and giving her a 30 second clap! (Everybody stands and claps for 30 seconds. Deric gives her the bouquet of flowers ) (She was overwhelmed she cried tears of joy as she took her seat and Dad seats beside her) Now I'd like to speak to my parents from my heart and be as real as much as I can if you don't mind: I never admitted this before even to myself but to be very honest Mom, I am so proud of you. I am so proud of you that I want to be like you, I look up to you, I want what you have! I want houses and cars like you have. I want 5 children gifted with such talent, intelligence, beauty, grace and passion. I want a husband like Dad. Who doesn't want to have a man like that? Not only is he handsome but he is full of wisdom, loyal, faithful man of GOD! And to top it all off, he is such a wonderful father. Now let me talk to Dad right now. Dad, I know you know already because I always write it down in the father's day card but Dad you are the coolest Dad in the world. And what makes you cool is not how macho you are, because you are macho! But you understand me, complicated as I am, you do understand me. You are the best father for me because the many times I was broken, you were always there to hug me and the comfort you give me always have a healing effect on me. Every time you hug me, I feel GOD's warm embrace thru yours. When Cherie our dog died, I was on the floor weeping yes it sounds funny now but at that time I was so devastated I couldn't walk I was literally on the floor weeping, but you picked me, carried me to the house and wept with me. Your embrace means a lot to me Dad because when I remember the tragedy of losing her, I remember how much you cared for me. Not very long ago I was at the lowest point of my life and I'm back on the floor once again, yet you couldn't allow yourself to do nothing. You went down from where you were and embraced me where I was, on the floor. Daddy you don't know how much power your embrace did for me because at that time I was imprisoned by a bad relationship that I couldn't get out of it. Your embrace is GOD embracing and loving me. I never felt so loved by anyone in my life... and until today you are still the greatest man in the world for me (after JESUS). What I'm trying to say Daddy is "You're the man!" You are the man of our house and the man GOD has put authority over this family. You are not only Provider, but you are Protector and Priest of our home. And in my eyes as a daughter, you painted a beautiful picture of GOD because of the way you fathered me. Jesus is your King and He is mine too because of your faithfulness to Him. I can Imagine when they were younger, during their college days, many girls were chasing after my Dad but my Dad was chasing after my mom! She was the Campus Queen and the entire school's envy! What does she have that other girls didn't have? Because she got it all going on for her...she was smart, pretty and she had a Bruce Lee look-a-like guy chasing after her. Little did they know that what she have is Jesus. Jesus was your King before Dad became your Prince. And in my single life I have tried to find this kind of Prince but I realized that whoever Dad is now has a lot to do with you, for he would not be where he is right now if you had not been by his side. What people can't figure out why you are so blessed by a loving husband and family is that you have the character that deserves the blessings. I find many people tell me that I sound like you, act like you and talk like you but I don't want to just appear to be like you. I want to have your great character Mom. You have the strength to forgive all those that have wronged you. The grace to smile at all those that envy you. The hands that work hard until you make dreams come true. And best of all, you have the faith that moves mountains. Yes Mom, this is your greatest asset, it is your faith and great belief in GOD that - He can really do anything! You built our family by faith, and you inherited everything you own by faith. And this is why I know that you truly are favored by GOD because He answers your prayers more than mine. Many times I've tried to go abroad and GOD always brings me back because you are praying. There's just something about the Eldest sibling in the family. Eldest Siblings are Head on, Head strong, Independent and we want to prove ourselves to people. But don't take it against us, because deep inside every child's heart is the desire to make our parents proud and I do want to make you guys proud. Forgive me for the countless times I made you cry. Forgive me that I misunderstood your love for so long. It is by GOD's grace, that I am standing here before you on your birthday for without your prayers I know for sure that I will not be here today. One of the greatest things you taught me about faith in GOD is in Romans 4:17 “God, who quicken the dead, and calleth those things which be not as though they were.” You have called faith words to me at my worst time. When I was rebelling you will pray to GOD and say thank you that my daughter is obedient to you. When I was broken, you said Thank you Lord that You have healed my daughter. It was your prayers of faith that made GOD to act, and set me free from captivity of the wrong lifestyle, wrong relationship or rebellion all the time. I want you to know that your prayers offered in faith and in tears are not only heard by GOD but is precious unto Him. Every time you cried for me, GOD saved your precious tears in a bottle, and not just your prayers but those others who have been praying for me too. He kept all your tears in a bottle and waited until the time was right. When I was ready to receive, the bottle of tears that you shed for me had become like a flood that poured on me and I was drowning in the rivers of GOD's love while I was far from home. Thank you for your love that never gives up on me and for such faith that literally moved the heart of GOD to act on your behalf! Praying for me day after day until I'm home with you, not just physically home but truly home in my heart. For we can be physically present but mentally and emotionally absent. Now I know that GOD is pleased with you because today your daughter has come home truly in her heart and she has decided to stay. While I was in Texas, GOD brings to my remembrance a song: A very special song that when GOD reminded me of it, I couldn't stop my tears from falling. This song is the sweetest lullaby that my mother used to sing to me when I was a child. I was 5 years old and every Mother's day she would sing this song in church but she would have me put in a chair, like where you are now and she would stand here like where I am now and she would sing this precious song to me. When I listened to this song again, I just wept for a long time. I remember when she sang to me, I would tell myself "Don't cry girl, be a tough girl, you are not going to embarass yourself in front of all these people!" Because every time she sang this song, I am overcome by such deep love, motherly love that only a mother can have with her child. I felt the overwhelming love of GOD thru the song she sang to me and until today when I hear it I just drown in GOD's presence and sweet love every time I listen to it. And today it makes me cry even more because I regret the many times I have ever doubted your love for me. Now I know what to do every time I cannot understand you, I just need to listen to this song again. When you love someone so much, you just want to sing to that person. I know and I can relate to this kind of love because I have a son and his name is Cobe

Cobe the grandson!

Cobe, whom I love so much and I not only have sang to him but created silly lullabies to that sweet muffin. And if that's how I feel towards just a dog, how much more it is with a mother's love toward their child? The song she used to sing is called Masterpiece. She would refer to me her daughter as GOD's masterpiece. And it's amazing because tonight she is sitting there and I am standing here marvelling at GOD's work in her life because her life, her journey of faith is truly GOD's fine work of art, she is, GOD's masterpiece. Zephaniah 3:17 says GOD rejoices over you with joyful songs. Mom because GOD loves you so much I believe He wants to sing to you tonight. And it is my greatest honor to sing back the song you sang to me many years ago. But this will be the hardest song that I ever have to sing because it means so much to me Mom, and I am always in tears every time I hear this, how much more sing it? but tonight I ask GOD to give me the grace to finish this song. To my siblings I want you to listen to this song because Mom would sing this for you as much as she had sang this for me before and to all our guests I want you to enjoy this song and imagine your own Mother and GOD singing this song to you.

This video was created by Grace Yu

Directed by the King and I

Note to Mommy:

July 19,2017

Mommy Myra,

You are a Masterpiece, GOD's fine work of art, because without You I wouldn't be me... I love you forever and for always!!!

ttps://youtu.be/mkuvJogGCwk

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page